Month: May 2014

  • I suppose that one of the biggest downfalls when I’m in a relationship or interested in someone is that I’m probably overly affectionate. It’s been something that has been running through my mind for several years now. And recently, it started to make sense (and maybe also why one relationship ended the way it did).

    I’m a very open person when it comes to expressing my feelings. I rarely hold anything back and I often voice my opinions/emotions. When I’m interested in someone, I like to talk to them a lot. To me, it’s a form of connecting deeper. I like to see what they’re thinking about, what they are up to, and so on.

    I started reading a few snippets online about expressing affection and how much is too much. And, from it seemed like, apparently, I’ve been very smothering. I don’t mean to be, but it happens. I often like to keep in touch, and I now understand why it can be annoying. It put me in the shoes of the other person. I guess the reason why I never saw it before (even if I did look at it from someone else’s point of view) is because usually when I get a text or something from someone I’m involved with or interested, it makes me feel great. And I usually don’t feel smothered by it.

    But I suppose that in recent times over the past year or two, I started to experience those type of moments from a select few. And how exhausting it is to deal with it. And so, while it will take a bit to adapt and deal, I’m doing my best to not be so smothering and interjecting. I still want to show that I heart them and appreciate them and like them, so it’s going to be a challenge.

Recent Comments

Categories