February 9, 2014

  • Beijing and Hong Kong

    I’m up at 6 AM on a Sunday for no apparent reason. I figure now is the best time to tell you all about my trip to Beijing and Hong Kong!

    I took off for about two and a half to three weeks for this vacation. This will be the first time I will be going to Beijing and the third (second if you only count the times you remember) to Hong Kong. It has been almost 14 years since I’ve been back to Hong Kong, so I was very excited to see what has (and hasn’t) changed.

    But first, the flight over. My family and I signed up for a tour group to visit the mostly popular parts of Beijing. We departed around 11 AM on a 13-hour flight to the motherland (kinda). I’ve ad longer flights before, but since this was a direct flight, it was somewhat of a new experience.

    Those who are friends with me on Facebook knew that during the first part of my trip, I’ve been pretty silent on Facebook. It’s because unlike Canada and the United States where they have a (somewhat) free flow of information via internet, China monitors their internet. As a result, Facebook, Twitter, and the likes are blocked. Plus, the Wifi in the hotel was pretty terrible. The accommodations were pretty good otherwise.

    Some of the highlights that were experienced on the trip were Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, The Great Wall, the upcoming city of Chengdu, and mainly the food. I gained about 5 pounds in the first 5 days of being there.


    Bird’s Next. Beijing Olympics.


    Stinky tofu. Mmmmm…

    After a week in Beijing, we were off to Hong Kong (a much more related form of the motherland to my family). We stayed with my brother’s fiancee’s family. A lot has changed, but a lot has stay the same. Hong Kong still retained the elegance I remembered back when I was 13 years old (the last time I visited).


    Ocean Park.

    There was also my brother and his fiancee’s engagement party!

    However, one of the highlights of the Hong Kong portion that will always stick out in my mind is when I got to meet @MellyWelly15! I already miss her so, and I wish I was in Hong Kong longer to spend more time with her. She’s such an energetic and loving person to be around, always smiling and cracking jokes. Plus, she gives magnificent hugs too. <3

    If you ever have a chance to travel, I would definitely recommend Hong Kong. Such an elegant city with so much to do, so much to eat, so much to see…

Comments (9)

  • Thanks for sharing your photos. I would love to see the great wall some day. I wouldn’t try one of those scorpians on a stick though. Did you?
    How wonderful that you got to meet up with another Xangan,
    and congrats to your brother on his engagement. I liked how you matched your orange sneakers and shirt; how fun.

    • You’re always welcome! And it’s definitely a site to see and experience. Exhausting too, but you can proudly tell people you climbed it. And yes, I did! They display them live on the counter still moving and then fry them when you order one. It taste just like friend shrimp, and was surprisingly tasty.

      Meeting Xangans have always been something I’m always looking forward to, and will continue to plan to do. And thank you! I always do my best to be spiffy. :)

  • I have to ask, how long did it take to reach all the way up the great wall? And, all that swag, I LUV the orange with the converse! So glad we met too bon, even for a short bit,and luv all our picty together, aren’t we just the cutest!! <3 Hope your recovering from the jag-lag already. Missing your awesome HUGS :(

    • We didn’t get to climb all the way up. I think we got past like… two towers? And that was already like half an hour for one tower. I certainly wish we had longer to spend together. And, like I mentioned before, you always make the pictures better. ^_^ <3 Thank you, sweetums. I miss you too. Lots.

  • I love all the photos, and so cool that you got to meet Mel!

  • Yeah i felt bad that you felt bad not spending much time and i knew, you’d be occupied anyway during CNY, and i wanted to see how it’ll be like in HK during that time, should have planned my time well but that again, at least we got to meet and spend some time together and i even got to meet your family and had some nice food! Thank you again and please thank your family for taking me out. I hope your family enjoyed the cake and the hello kitty chopstick i got for your mom… :/ Again, very spunky in suit,the orange is just distracting.. xx

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories